Canterbury Architecture Shines

Architecture from the Canterbury and Nelson regions were celebrated on Friday 4 August at the Regional ADNZ Resene Architectural Design Awards held in Christchurch.

Recognising architectural designs from across New Zealand, in a range of budgets and for a variety of needs, the annual ADNZ Resene Architectural Design Awards are one of the most respected design awards in the country.

From the Canterbury region, an impressive 24 projects and 16 designers were recognised, the most out of any region in the country. The award winners are:

• Aaron Jones of Urbanfunction

• Gareth Ritchie of Archco Architecture

• Bob Burnett and Shizuka Yasui of Bob Burnett Architecture 

• Garry Mayne of Chilton + Mayne Architecture Ltd

• David Chilton of Chilton + Mayne Architecture

• Craig South of South Architects 

• Mitchell Coll of Fabric

• Ben Brady of Linetype Architectural

• Marcus Stufkens of Stufkens+Chambers Architects

• Ben Comber and Josh Newsome-White of Studio Well 

• Kelly Rush of Krush Architecture 

• Greg Young of Young Architects

• Barry Connor of Barry Connor Design

• Belfiore Bologna of Design Factum Limited

ADNZ CEO, Keryn Davis, said the Canterbury region continues to dominate the ADNZ awards.

“Year after year the Canterbury region performs and brings home many awards. There are several reasons for this, including the opportunities designers have benefited from during the rebuild environment, the level of talent coming out of Ara Institute of Canterbury and a significant prioritization of ADNZ membership in the region. The Canterbury region has built a strong and committed group of designers. Congratulations to all the winners. 

All winners of regional awards are finalists in the National ADNZ Resene Architectural Design Awards. The national winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 27 October in Wellington.